Some years there are Apples

I didn’t get this when I first read it. Took nearly all day thinking to get it. I got it now.

What “it” do I mean?
Well its the final line to a poem entitled GATHER by Rose McLarney.

I saw this poem in my email earlier today while perusing my email during lunch hour on the Friday of a very busy and emotionally charged week.

Busy because of my workload at my job. Busy because I also started a new home-based business. Busy because its also the week of my twin daughters’ 27th birthday, my best friends’ birthday, and Mothers Day.
Emotional..?? Yeah, that too. I would just simplify that part and say I’m hormonal. True, but not the whole truth. Hormones are making things feel so much more intense, but I’ve got a valid reason to be emotional and touchy right now.

But no, I’m NOT going to go into the whys and whereafores of my emotional upheaval. Thats a blog entry for another day. It’ll be a biggie though, promise.

…and no, I haven’t digressed, I’m simply explaining, ok. Don’t rush me…..

The apples and “it”. Well it sort of ties in with my emotional week. Basically “it” is the fact that life just happens, y’know? Things just happen no matter what we try to do to change them, no matter what we do to try to control them, regardless what we want, or expect, or hope for. Things just happen as they will. Each in its own time. Can’t rush it, control it or force it. And some years, you get Apples.

~Aye

….ok, ok alright already *sheesh, quit pushing. Here’s the poem, maybe you’ll get “it” too….enjoy, and thanks for listening. I needed to get that off my chest.

GATHER by Rose McLarney

Some springs, apples bloom too soon.
The trees have grown here for a hundred years, and are still quick
to trust that the frost has finished. Some springs,
pink petals turn black. Those summers, the orchards are empty
and quiet. No reason for the bees to come.

Other summers, red apples beat hearty in the trees, golden apples
glow in sheer skin. Their weight breaks
branches, the ground rolls with apples, and you fall in fruit.

You could say, I have been foolish. You could say, I have been fooled.
You could say, Some years, there are apples.

http://www.poets.org

Leave a Reply

